Book Reviews

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

21569527General

  • Author: Mary E. Pearson
  • Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Science-fiction
  • Series: The Remnant Chronicles
  • Year of publication: 2014
  • Pages: 470
  • Followed by: The Beauty of Darkness (#3)

Goodreads blurb

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.


Ratings

★★★★★

5 stars


Review

Oh my gosh you guys, I freaking adore this book. This book makes me forget about the jinx about the second books. I believe the second book was even better than the first book, not that I’m saying the first book was bad. Since the first book had already done most of the world-building, it was so easy for me to read the book because the author can go straight to the points.

In the first book, I truly truly stuck with my shipping for “Raia” a.k.a Rafe and Lia. But while reading this book, I couldn’t help but feel the butterflies in my tummy when Kaden was with Lia. You could say that it is kind of a love-hate relationship, which is so adorable for me, yet steamy sometimes. However, I haven’t changed my shipping for Raia because they are even more steamy and they make me feel like not butterflies but exploding bombs thrown into my tummy.

I absolutely loved how the side characters were so influential to Lia. I also loved how each of them had their own stories and it was just so amazing how they get to care about Lia. The chemistry between the side characters and Lia was remarkable as the romance. It left me wondering if it was possible to have a real person care about you in such a short time. I was also surprised how they play a big part in the story.

I have to admit that I am not a fast reader and it takes a few days or a week for me to finish a book.This book contained 470 pages and I was able to finish this book in 2 days. Maybe you’re a real fast reader and it may seem long for you, but for me it was really surprising how I was able to read this book that fast. I think the reason to this is because I was reading this book non-stop. Whenever I wanted to stop reading, I just couldn’t stop reading. This book just pulled me into the book and just didn’t want to let me go. I was so absorbed to the world I felt like I was really the main character. It felt like all the things were happening to me in real life.

 

One thought on “The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

Leave a comment